• ホーム
  • Prefecture designated tangible cultural property

Prefecture designated tangible cultural property

Prefecture designated tangible cultural property

Oldest concrete structure in Okinawa Prefecture

Completed in 1925 as a public building, this was the first true reinforced concrete construction in Okinawa.

Its ground-breaking design using the metric system during the Taisho era (1912-1926) took careful account of the climate and natural features of Okinawa, and it features some superior design elements such as the use of an octagonal shape especially designed to reduce wind pressure from typhoons.

The only concrete building from the Taisho Era still standing in Okinawa, it remains a valuable historical reminder of the introduction of reinforced concrete building technology to Japan.

November 18, 1997 specified date
Designer Shimura Tsutomu (from Kumamoto)

旧大宜味村役場庁舎

Village designated cultural property

Yamashishi-gaki (Wild Boar Wall) of Ogimi Village, First Cultural Property Designated by Ogimi Village

【Type:】
Historic site
【Designated name:】
Yamashishi-gaki (Wild Boar Wall) of Ogimi Village
【Location:】
Surrounding the entire village of Ogimi, from Kijoka to Tsuha, with a total length of around 31 km
【Boundaries designated by the village:】
between Mutabaru, Oshikawa (near the site of the former Hotel Shah Bay) and Tanabaru Mountain Forest, Nerome (Uehara Hakinjo)
【Distance designated by the village:】
around 1.3 km (see map for details)
【Description of Yamashishi-gaki:】

Our ancestors in Ogimi Village built Yamashishi-gaki (Wild Boar Wall) at the border of the Somayama mountain (which is now village land) and their farmland, to keep wild boars from entering their farmland and protect their fields. The owners of the plots adjacent to the wall have particularly taken responsibility to preserve Yamashishi-gaki for generations, by maintaining the sections of wall alongside their land, and repairing the wall quickly if it crumbles, in order to protect their fields and Ogimi Village as a whole.

Records indicate that from 1776 to 1782, based on the directions of government officials in each village, the residents of Shioya, Yako-Maeda, Tanna, Tonokiya, Nerome, etc. conducted extensive repair work on Yamashishi-gaki, and that at this time they completed a stone wall with a height of 4 shaku (around 1.3 meters), down from a height of 7 shaku (around 2.3 meters), gathering and stacking stones during the quiet season and moonlit nights (according to the Kyuyo history book written by Sho Boku). Therefore, it is believed that Yamashishi-gaki was first constructed around the time when potatoes took hold as a crop, after Noguni Soukan brought potato seedlings to Okinawa in 1605.

Yamashishi-gaki, which completely surrounds Ogimi Village. 60 years after the war, Yamashishi-gaki still stands stong, at the border between village land and individual plots of land. Over many generations, our ancestors did everything they could to maintain Yamashishi-gaki, as individuals, and as an entire village.

The Ogimi administrative district established internal laws requiring that village officials patrol Yamashishi-gaki, and command the wardens of Yamashishi-gaki to make repairs if they found any areas where the wall was breaking down. The next time the officials came to patrol the wall, they would fine anyone who had not completed the repairs for two sho (about 3.6 liters) of rice.

If wild boars broke into the fields, the farmers could lose their potatoes (their staple food) and all other crops. Since boars could threaten the very existence of the farmers, maintaining Yamashishi-gaki to prevent boars from entering the fields was a life-or-death fight for the farmers.
The history of our ancestors in this village is carved into Yamashishi-gaki. Yamashishi-gaki, which surrounds Ogimi Village completely, is also called “the 40-kilometer great wall.” It stands as a testament to its long history of construction, repairs, and maintenance, and the lives of the people who have lived in Ogimi Village. It is a valuable cultural asset, which tells the history of the ancestors of today’s villagers.

大宜味村の猪垣(ヤマシシガキ)第1号 村指定文化財

このページの上部へ戻る

大宜味村観光ナビ
沖縄長寿の村をめぐる観光情報サイト

大宜味村ふるさと納税

防災監視設備カメラ

おおぎみ画像風景

「結の浜」宅地分譲中!!

防災情報

おおぎみまるごと
ツーリズム協会

全国「道の駅」連絡会HP

匿名通報ダイヤル